RSS Feed

closet case


I have been slacking on my blogging, and for this I apologize. I am quite busy with all the schooling going on in this house, not to mention the very hungry two month old. There has been quite an uproar of bad behavior as well. I am sure a lot of it has to do with how much we are cooped up in this house. Thankfully I have a coupon for Pump it up, and it will pay for all of my kids to get in. We will be visiting them soon. We also have some grand ideas for field trips, but will need some extra money. So, they may or may not happen. As for now, we have been moving right along with school. In fact Dylan finished his math book for the year so I am going to replace it with a book for him to review everything we covered. He is really quite good at math, but just doesn’t like having to sit and use his brain.

I am also doing pretty good with school as of late. I am actually very proud of myself. I have been keeping up with everything and somewhat enjoying it, surprising I know. I decided to check my Degree Completion Plan Audit yesterday and noticed that I only have four semesters of school left. Which means after this year is over, I only have two semesters left. It’s amazing how quickly it all went. Of course I have life outside of school, a full life, and that keeps me busy. So, because I am almost done with school I find myself saying, “Now what?”  It’s kind of a weird feeling, I keep saying,”What will I do without having school to worry about?” I know most people would say, “Use your degree! Get a job!” Easy for you to say! I have four children and I am homeschooling them. All of this to say, Will and I have been talking and I am debating starting the Masters program once I finish my Bachelors. Yeah, I know, it’s a lot of work. Trust me, I have looked into it for quite some time now. Ultimately it will give me a greater advantage when I do start my job search and I will have more options when it comes to finding a job. The biggest plus for me is the fact that with a Masters I can be a licensed counselor. That is far more appealing than anything else. I don’t care to work for it. Anyway it’s something we are praying about and I know God will direct me on what to do.

Now on to the closet! Yes, I am actually going to talk about a closet, not just myself being a closet case. The school room closet has been a thorn in my side for far too long.  Having a super messy in the school room, of all places, is a bit of an issue when you home school. So, without further adieu here is the terrifying before.

Scary, right? After just a few minute of going through the clutter, I had it licked. I was surprised that it didn’t take me long at all, and I had some little helpers. The lovely after is here

all that empty space that you see will be shelving, just haven’t purchased it yet. So much nicer!! It makes me really happy, because I love things to be clean and set just right.

We also made a family tree the other day

This was a lot of fun.  The kids had a million ideas of how to make a tree and what it would look like. We decided on this and it didn’t take long to put it up. The longest part was putting all of the information. We are still working on putting all the family on, mostly because Will and I have a couple of questions. I thought in addition we could figure out all of our heritage together, basically what the kids are now, and have an appropriate dinner. I know German, Dutch and Swedish are major ones, so perhaps a dinner from one of these cultures could be a fun idea. I have English, French, and Irish (that’s just to name a few) on my side, so maybe we will have a few dinner nights to represent each one. Who doesn’t love food?

About newhomeschoolmom

a mother, wife, friend, daughter, student and now teacher.

2 responses »

  1. Wanna come help me organize? LOL. Totally kidding, but the school room is looking good! And with the family tree, don’t forget Cajun! That’s a culture unto itself! 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yes! That would be so much fun. It’s a shame we don’t have more time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

