RSS Feed

back to school

I originally started this blog as a means to keep track of our homeschooling adventure and have somewhat strayed.  Lets get back to the task at hand, shall we? In the midst of the homeschooling talk, we will also keep with daily life and the organizing train we have already started. More about that later.

I want to make sure that I post things pertaining to homeschooling for a few reasons. First off to let everyone know that we are actually doing school and surviving, such as my family and friends.  But I also want to make sure that I show other people who do not home school, or perhaps strongly disagree with it, that it is do-able and fun.  Maybe I can be an example for someone who suddenly becomes a home school fan, rather than finding it “weird” or anti-social.

Trust me when I was in high school I thought it was strange, perhaps even a little “old timey”.  But once I got to know some homeschoolers, heck some of my closest friends, I realized they are so incredibly normal!  Now do not get me wrong, there are some interesting people who home school, but there are interesting people who don’t home school.  My point is just because I home school my children does not make us bizarre or overly religious people, that don’t believe in girls wearing pants or cutting their hair. We wear pants and cut our hair! So there you have it, normal homeschoolers.

So, today was a first for me.  I turned in my son’s grades for the first semester.  I was a little nervous at first thinking, “They trust me to do this.” Then it dawned on me, they trust me to home school the kid, so I have to grade him too.  Anyway, with all the fear behind me I sat down with pen in hand and started the process.  5 A’s and 2 B’s.  Wow, that was easy! Fact is he is in first grade.  He can appropriately do the work and cooperates well.  Since I am the one controlling all factors of the schooling process, why wouldn’t he do well?

Needless to say, another simple process related to homeschooling.  Grades go in twice a year, once in January and once in June.  Simple.  You write out the grades and the amount of days school was done (typically 90 days per semester) then you sign and send. Love it.

Now we have taken an extra long Christmas break, mostly for baby G. I didn’t know when labor would happen and I wasn’t sure how long it would take us to adjust, typical new baby fears. I am also in the process of re-organizing our school room (the new table gets here Tuesday) and I want it to be done before we start back.  The start date is targeted for Monday the 16th, that’s when I start back as well. I figured why not have everyone on the same schedule, makes it easier for me anyway.

I am also starting the savings for all our curriculum for the next school year and I cannot wait to get it in.  Dylan will be starting 2nd grade and Cecilia Kindergarten.  She is so incredibly ecstatic it makes me excited.  Dylan’s curriculum will be based on history and can I just say, he is going to love it. We will be learning some great stories from our history and also reading some of my favorite books, like this one…

One of my all time favorite books in the world! I cannot wait to read it with him.  I do believe this is the first book to make me cry.

Cecilia’s curriculum also has a lot of good reading.  Which is good considering I am planning to teach her to read this school year. She has been begging to learn and I say its high time. She needs some more work on the letter sounds, but she is coming right along.

In all I would say we are doing really good with school.  I am actually more than ready to get back to work and I am excited for the 16th.  I have a lot of fun things in store for this semester and will keep you posted.

Now I am off to work on some organizing, will post soon.

About newhomeschoolmom

a mother, wife, friend, daughter, student and now teacher.

Leave a Reply

