RSS Feed

a new year

I believe that with a new year comes many “new” things.  For us this has been a great deal of things.  A baby, new yard, new endeavors, and a great big project list.

Let me start by saying, I really want to be more consistent with posts, not only for myself and children, but the many distance relatives to have a peek at our day to day lives.  That is my first “new” start. I do not think I will have the time to post every single day, although I feel like I have enough information stored in my brain to share every day, but lets remember my incredibly busy life.  If I do end up sharing everyday, great! And if I do not, please understand.

So, first and foremost the baby! Yes, finally our precious bundle is here and the bundle is a boy! I must say, a pretty incredible Christmas gift if I do say so myself. He is beautiful, hungry, and already has a kind spirit.  Already a month old to my own dismay, but growing and doing so well. And he is blond!

Christmas, well it was great!  I had an amazing day and loved seeing the adorable smiles of my ecstatic kiddos.  I have to say our cup ran over that day. The gifts just kept pouring in and they loved every second of it.  Followed by a delicious meal shared with my mother, stepfather and grandmother.  The relaxation that followed was so desperately needed and taken advantage of. 

Following Christmas was some time (although short, very nice) with Michigan family.  My sister-in-law and her family were able to make it down for a week.  Loved seeing them, wish we had more time and opportunity.  I unfortunately came down with an illness while they were here and that happened to keep us at bay.

New years for us was nothing new.  We stayed home and watched tv and lounged in bed just like any other night. In fact we didn’t even watch the ball drop.  We happened to look at the clock and notice it was a few minutes past midnight.  We said “oops, missed it” kissed and went to sleep. Unfortunately the next morning Dylan awoke with some terrible stomach bug.  The poor guy was so drained, but thankfully later in the day was back to his old self and eating like a horse.

All in all, we had a great holiday season.  As much as I love Christmas and New years, I also love to see it go and get my house back in order.  This brings us to the big project list.  Oh yes, we are going to give this house and our lives a face lift.  And I must say I cannot wait! Who knew one could be so excited about cleaning and organizing.  Let’s just say it’s been a long time comin and its about time!

I have gotten most of my inspiration from a lovely lady named Jen, who happens to be an organizing super hero.  She has a blog called i heart organizing, which I have fallen in love with.  You must check it out and look at her home tour, just gorgeous.  Anyway she has many helpful hints for getting things organized, yet functional and pretty.

She also made a great family binder (I have been trying to make one for over a year now) that helps to keep everyone and everything organized. Jen’s family binder. 

One of the first things we intend to do is tame the lion, that is paper that is taking over our house.  Paper and I have a love hate relationship.  I know I need it, but I hate the sight of it and she helps with that in a big way. You can take a look here —> Paper challenge: step 1, step 2, step 3, step 4, step 5, step 6, and step 7 

My next big job is taking care of pictures.  I love to take pictures and I love to scrapbook, but I have really gotten behind on both of these things.  My computer is just a heap of pictures here and there in unorganized files. I have no idea where to find what.  Not to mention I cannot remember the last time I have put a picture in a scrapbook or photo album.  Well, these amazing ideas by Jen actually got me excited to get back into scrap booking. She has steps for organizing your pictures on your computer and also organizing them into photo holders and an awesome project I cannot wait to do called Project life. Mine is going to be exactly the same, in the sense that I just think it looks like an easier and cuter way to put all your pictures in an album.  Now perhaps next year or even this year I can do the one picture a day and complete the project, either way it is a neat idea.  The only sad part is you can no longer buy the entire kit, however if you go to amazon.com you can buy the different components and build your own from scratch, which is what I plan to do.

In this organization over haul I also plan to get the rest of the house in order.  Including the kitchen, both living areas, bedrooms, laundry room, garage, and my biggest project yet the craft closet.  I understand this is going to be a lot of work! Also these things cost money, so each project will have to be done as extra money is available.  Not to mention that fact that I will be starting school again on the 16th.  And yet I will make a way. I cannot wait!

Here is my pledge, to keep up with posting and pictures! I also want to keep everyone up to date on the many projects that I will be doing. Complete with before and after pictures.  In the end I am praying that these ideas and myself trying to accomplish them will help others trying to find organization and creativity, especially in these glum, cold winter months. I believe that is all for now, wish me luck.

 

About newhomeschoolmom

a mother, wife, friend, daughter, student and now teacher.

One response »

  1. Wow, Jenn! You are amazing! Love you and your heart!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

