RSS Feed

My amateur book review

I have found (with help from my Mother-in-law, thankfully) an amazingly, great book for Mom’s everywhere. Large Family Logistics: The Art and Science of Managing the Large Family by Kim Brenneman. Do not be fooled by the name, this book can also be used with families with only two children, it was just written in mind with large families. Kim gives some amazing advice throughout the entire book, basing the book off of  Proverbs 31:10-31. The first half of the book speaks about, a right attitude as a mother, discipline, time management, how to dress, and balancing everything with a new baby, just to name a few. The second part of the book talks about creating a Home Management Book and all the tasks we can work on each day. She has an example of Monday-Laundry Day, Tuesday-Kitchen, Wednesday-Office Day, Thursday-Town Day, Friday-Cleaning Day, Saturday-Gardening Day, and Sunday-The Lord’s Day.  You also fill in these days with your Morning Routine, Afternoon Chores, and Evening and Mealtime Routines. She gives a great backbone to work with and develop upon. She also speaks in-depth about, grocery shopping, being pregnant and preparing for a baby (while keeping the rest of the household going) and bill payment/budgeting. She also touches a lot on homeschooling and managing it with the rest of the house efficiently.  This is encouraging to me, considering we will be starting our first year of homeschooling in the fall and I am encouraged and just plain excited to start especially with everything in order and working seamlessly. My family is going to be using this system starting TODAY!  We did implement some of the ideas today and it went ok, not great. This is a system that has to be enforced everyday all day as much as possible. I would like to have it going full-time in the Summer and transition into the home school year in September. I have found it to be a little difficult with Dylan still being in school, but we will introduce what we can, now. All of that to say, I LOVED this book! It is great and I suggest it to anyone and everyone. I read almost the entire thing in ONE night. Very good book. Kim, said a lot of things in her book that I really appreciated and liked. I will call these Kim-isms. There a number of them I like so I am sure I will post many over time, but as for today, there is one thing she said that has been with since I read it. “When you make decisions moment by moment throughout the day, they need to be filtered through two questions: ‘Is this activity glorifying God and serving Him?’ and ‘Are my first priorities taken care of?’ Thinking through these questions is a habit that we deliberately need to foster.”  I feel this bit of advice should apply to everyone, not just mothers and wives. It is something I will be sure to display for my children and teach them to also ask these questions. Hopefully this is understandable and will encourage others to possibly buy this book and achieve some great habits in your home.

About newhomeschoolmom

a mother, wife, friend, daughter, student and now teacher.

One response »

  1. Glad you liked the book – I think Kim is great. She has helped me think through and refine so many things that we do on a daily basis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

